The Helena Symphony and Philadelphia Orchestra Violinist, Amy Oshiro-Morales perform an all-Tchaikovsky

program on Saturday February 25! Noted Philadelphia Orchestra Violinist Amy Oshiro-Morales performs Tchaikovsky’s

popular Violin Concerto that exudes sublime lyricism, yearning wistfulness, and thrilling virtuosity. The all-Tchaikovsky

program continues with his triumph over fate – proclaiming “rejoice in the happiness of others, and you can still live!”


“Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto requires a monster player,” says Maestro Allan R. Scott. “The soloist is Amy

Oshiro-Morales, Amy is a violinist with the Philadelphia Orchestra, which has such a great relationship with the music of

Tchaikovsky. Amy and I have performed this piece before, and just when I think someone can’t play this last movement

any faster, she does it.” Maestro Scott goes on to explain “When you experience a human being performing this Violin

Concerto, and an orchestra performing this massive Symphony, it is hard for me to believe that people don’t walk out of

this concert hall different than when they came in.”


Masterworks IV is presented by AARP Montana, the Physician Partners of the St. Peter’s Health Foundation,

American Chemet, Kristin Lahmeyer Drees, the Carolina Bed & Breakfast, and Montana Radio Company!



Ms. Oshiro made her debut with the Chicago Symphony at the age of 12 and has appeared numerous times as a soloist

with the Saint Louis Symphony, the Napa Valley Symphony, the Minnesota Sinfonia, The Central Ohio Symphony, and

others. Ms. Oshiro began violin studies when she was three years old. She studied with Almita and Roland Vamos at

Oberlin Conservatory, where she received the Dean’s Talent Award scholarship. She continued her studies at the Juilliard

School with Robert Mann, the founder and former first violinist of the Juilliard Quartet.


Amy Oshiro-Morales joined The Philadelphia Orchestra’s violin section in January 2008; prior to that she had held the

Assistant Concertmaster position with the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra. During the 2012-13 season, Ms. Oshiro held

the acting Assistant Concertmaster title with The Philadelphia Orchestra. She also previously held the Associate

Concertmaster chair of the Colorado Symphony and was Assistant Concertmaster of the Grant Park Orchestra (IL). She

has also performed as a guest musician with the New York Philharmonic.



“Many of the great Romantic composers produced their greatest works while struggling against the disease of the

body or of the mind. Beethoven struggled against deafness, Schumann succumbed to insanity, and Brahms sickened of a

broken heart,” says Maestro Allan R. Scott.


“Tchaikovsky, too, produced music out of suffering. A sensitive, shy child, young Tchaikovsky had turbulent formative

years. Having moved from city to city throughout his childhood, Tchaikovsky and his brother were eventually banished to

a factory-like boarding school. At the age of 14, he lost his mother, whom he loved obsessively, to cholera. The young

Tchaikovsky was prone to sudden fits of neurosis, ironically induced by the very music he loved. The composer attempted

to shield his homosexuality from a disapproving world with a failed marriage,” explains Maestro Scott. “It is not

surprising then that Tchaikovsky struggled against depression throughout his life, eventually, dying by his own hand.”


Maestro Scott goes on to elaborate, “The melancholy of Tchaikovsky’s life left its mark on his compositions. Much of

Tchaikovsky’s music is ponderous and gloomy, due to the dark cast of his harmonies and orchestration. Tchaikovsky,

however, had a deeply rooted love of life that also finds expression in his music, especially his ballet scores, which are

vibrant with vigor, harmonic richness, and elegant beauty.”



The Helena Symphony is continuing its partnership with AARP to bring exceptional symphonic music to

thousands across western Montana. Over the last two years, the Helena Symphony and AARP Montana have brought

music into people’s homes with no pay wall, engaging more community members than ever before. As the Masterworks

Series presented by AARP Montana, this continued collaboration will support audiences within the concert hall, bringing

the highest quality symphonic performances and guest artists to Helena. The Helena Symphony is grateful for the

generosity of the AARP Montana team!


Concert tickets can be purchased ($55-$15 plus a $5 transaction fee) online at, by calling the

Symphony Box Office (406.442.1860), or visiting the Symphony Box Office located on the Walking Mall at the Placer

Building (21 N. Last Chance Gulch, Suite 100) between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.



See below for Season concert listing.

Maestro Scott, guest artists, and Director of Patron Services Scott Kall are available for interviews by contacting

the Symphony at 406.442.1860 or [email protected].